My Favorite Movie

March 28, 2013

Recently, an actor friend asked what my favorite movie is. Upon hearing my response, he replied that the director of this movie makes all fluff and no substance. He judged me because of my favorite movie.

His judgment irritated me. He made me feel like I must not know anything about movies because it is what he considers “fluff.”

The nature of the question set me up to be judged. I don’t think my favorite movie is the best movie ever made by any means. But it has sentimental significance.

This movie reminds me of a time in my life when I had a close group of girl friends. We spent our weekdays in school together and our weekends swooning over male movie stars because we were too embarrassed to talk about our real life crushes. The romance in my favorite movie made us believe that love conquers all and that we deserve to be appreciated by men.

Now life is a little more serious and there are “good” movies and “bad” movies. I guess the only movies that are supposed to matter are the award nominees, the rest is just fluff.

Well, I’m not going to apologize for enjoying movies that make me smile, whether they have “substance” or not.

Leave a Reply

