General Commentary

February 13, 2010

Spanish are a lot more blunt/harsh than Americans. My host senora’s nickname is “Chata,” which, my host sister explained to me, means “flat-nosed” because when she was younger, her nose was flat (?), so everyone would call her that. It’s perfectly normal now, though. But the point is that everyone calls her this harsh nickname. I am very lucky to have such a great host senora, but some of my peers are not. One of my classmates was saying that her senora heaps tons of food on her plate, then always comments about how she’s going to get fat if she keeps eating like that. And her senora was telling her one time that she doesn’t look fat, she’s just big-boned. And this girl is not fat at all, she’s about my size, actually. Also, the day after seeing my mom and older sister on skype, my senora said to me, “You’re Mom’s blonde and you’re sister’s blonde….?” And I said that I have the same color hair as my dad just so she wouldn’t think I’m an illegitimate child or something, even though my Dad’s hair is darker than mine.

We also learned that the general attitude of Spaniards is “sabor de vida,” which is like a Carpe Diem sort of mentality that every day needs to be celebrated and lived to the fullest. Following this priority is family and friends. It’s worth mentioning that the first description to collectively characterize Spaniards is that they’re individualistic. Then we received a list of other adjectives that describe people native to Spain, which seemed to contradict what was just said. I wonder if Americans are as easy to describe as a whole?

Leave a Reply

