Word Illustration: Solitude

September 21, 2009

By Lauren Eilola

By Lauren Eilola

This photo essay is a word illustration of “solitude.” My classmates and I had one week to complete this assignment, so we did not have time to have a more succinct collection, such as all black-and-white; however, all of the photographs are expression of solitude.

I rarely take photographs, so I did not a library to choose from for this project, so I kept my camera on me for the past week, searching for “solitude.” I happened across this female in a long hallway in the Katzen Arts Center on campus. The couches in this hallway are usually empty, so it was a good idea on her part to choose this place to be alone. I tried to crop the photo to obey the rule of thirds. Additionally, I choose to make the photo black-and-white to highlight the all of the shadows. Most of the photograph is very structured, with the columns and square couches, but I think the lighting adds an element of peace and serenity.

Overall, I am thrilled with the collection my classmates and I put together. I am very impressed with the beautiful photographs they contributed.

By Emily Kline

By Emily Kline

By Emily Anna Isayeff

By Emily Anna Isayeff

By Lauren May

By Lauren May

By Gretchen Kast

By Gretchen Kast

Leave a Reply

